Accreditation is a status that is conferred on an organisation by an external organisation when they have been assessed as having met particular standards. South Perth Hospital is accredited with the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS), with full accreditation granted until August 2021. The hospital is assessed against the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards, developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare (The Commission). It is mandatory for all hospitals including mental health facilities and day procedure units to comply with the standards set by The Commission.

Organisation wide assessments are conducted every 3 years by the ACHS.  From January 2019 the organisation will be assessed against the 2nd Edition of the NSQHS Standards which were reviewed and duplications removed to create 8 standards for assessment. In between Surveyor assessments, self-assessments are submitted to the ACHS to ensure progress is being made toward achieving reaccreditation. The primary aim of the NSQHS Standards is to ensure systems are in place to provide a standard of care consumers can expect from a health service, to protect the public from harm, and to ensure improvement in the quality of care provided by health service organisations.

The 8 National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) standards are:

Clinical Governance Standard

Partnering with Consumers Standard

Preventing and Controlling Healthcare Associated Infection Standard

Medication Safety Standard

Comprehensive Care Standard

Communicating for Safety Standard

Blood Management Standard

Recognising and Responding to Clinical Deterioration Standard



More information about the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards can be found on their website.

Further information on the ACHS Accreditation program can be found on their website